A letter to my beautiful self

Hey sweetheart,
You call everyone a sweetheart
You call everyone “mine”
But how long will it take you
To handover that same gratitude
To your very self
And make yourself your “mine”.
Didn’t get it?
I couldn’t at first too.
But that’s how it works
This thing with one and two
Of every one around the world
Who have learnt the trick
To keeping their self loved.
They wake up everyday
Even wash their face
But when they lift their face to the mirror
They keep it there
(Not the way you flinch away)
And tell their horrid selves
I love you,
I love you I love you I love you
Like I’ve never loved anyone else.
Like I’ve never felt for anybody else.
I love you like you are the only thing that can love me
Or make me happy
So I’ll love you and keep you happy.
I know it now,
I am writing on the back of my palms and hands
Getting it tattoed on my skin
I could dream of a hundred men
To come save me
In a hundred ways
Yet a single none of them
Would ever love me
The way I can love myself.
Love,
P.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.